News: Google launches ‘digital will’ option for after death

GoogleWeb giant Google has introduced a new feature which helps users consider what will happen to their online accounts after they die.

With the new Inactive Account Manager, users can choose to have their data deleted after a certain period of time, or can share their data with loved ones.

Google is offering the ‘data after death’ service on the following services: +1s, Blogger, Contacts and Circles; Drive, Gmail; Google+ Profiles, Pages and Streams; Picasa Web Albums; Google Voice and YouTube.

In a blog post announcing the service, Google said: “We hope that this new feature will enable you to plan your digital afterlife – in a way that protects your privacy and security – and make life easier for your loved ones after you’ve gone.”

Do you think this is a good idea? Would you rather pass your accounts to a loved one or just have them shut down after you die? Leave us a comment to let us know.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn


Kasey writes about the latest small business and website news for bOnline. Find Kasey on Google+, or follow bOnline on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google+

Speak Your Mind